The Denman Chase Chase

A Grade 2 Class 1 Steeplechase

A Grade 2 Steeplechase for 5 year olds and up over 2 miles 7 furlongs 86yards at Newbury Racecourse


The Denman Chase was origanally called the AON Chase after its sponsor.

In 2012 it was renamed by the new sponsor Betfair and renamed the Denman Chase in honour of Denman, who won the race in 2008 and also won 2 Hennessy Gold Cups at Newbury.

The race is seen as a trial for the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Three horses have won both events in the same year Kauto Star (2007), Denman (2008), and Coneygree (2015)


The Denman Chase 2016     Our Guide


Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey
2015 Coneygree 8 Mark Bradstock Richard Johnson
2014 Harry Topper 7 Kim Bailey Jason Maguire
2013 Silviniaco Conti 7 Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh
2012 Long Run 7 Nicky Henderson Mr Sam Waley-Cohen
2011 Noland 10 Paul Nicholls Tony McCoy
2010 Tricky Trickster 7 Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh
2009 Madison du Berlais [2] 8 David Pipe Tom Scudamore
2008 Denman 8 Paul Nicholls Sam Thomas
2007 Kauto Star 7 Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh
2006 No Race . . .
2005 Farmer Jack 9 Philip Hobbs Richard Johnson
2004 Shooting Light 11 Martin Pipe Richard Johnson
2003 Valley Henry 8 Paul Nicholls Barry Geraghty
2002 Bacchanal 8 Nicky Henderson Mick Fitzgerald
2001 Shotgun Willy 7 Paul Nicholls Joe Tizzard
2000 See More Business 10 Paul Nicholls Mick Fitzgerald

Home      Top_Of_Page validated web page
        © Copyright