Group 1 (4yo+) over a distance of 1 Mile


The Lockinge stakes is a top class Group One race for horses of 4 years and over.

The race is run at Newbury racecourse in May each year.

This race has been a Group 2 and also a Group 3 in the past but was given Group 1 status in 1995.

First run in 1958. The first two runnings of this race were won by Pall Mall a horse owned by HRH The Queen.

The race gets it's name from a former parish of Newbury.

There have been dual winners with the most recent being Welsh Pageant who won in 1970 and 1971.



See our 2014 guide Here.

See our 2013 guide Here.


Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner
2012 Frankel 4 Sir Henry Cecil Tom Queally Khalid Abdullah
2011 Canford Cliffs 4 Richard Hannon Richard Hughes Heffer / Tabor / Smith
2010 Paco Boy 5 Richard Hannon Richard Hughes Calvera Partnership 2
2009 Virtual 4 John Gosden Jimmy Fortune Cheveley Park Stud
2008 Creachadoir 4 Saeed bin Suroor Frankie Dettori Godolphin
2007 Red Evie 4 Michael Bell Jamie Spencer Terry Neill
2006 Peeress 5 Sir Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon Cheveley Park Stud
2005 Rakti 6 Michael Jarvis Philip Robinson Gary Tanaka
2004 Russian Rhythm 4 Sir Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon Cheveley Park Stud
2003 Hawk Wing 4 Aidan O'Brien Michael Kinane Sue Magnier
2002 Keltos 4 Carlos Laffon-Parias Olivier Peslier Tanaka / Marinopoulos
2001 Medicean 4 Sir Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon Cheveley Park Stud
2000 Aljabr 4 Saeed bin Suroor Frankie Dettori Godolphin
1999 Fly to the Stars 5 Saeed bin Suroor Willie Supple Godolphin
1998 Cape Cross 4 Saeed bin Suroor Daragh O'Donohoe Godolphin
1997 First Island 5 Geoff Wragg Michael Hills Mollers Racing
1996 Soviet Line 6 Michael Stoute Richard Quinn Maktoum Al Maktoum
1995 Soviet Line 5 Michael Stoute Walter Swinburn Maktoum Al Maktoum
1994 Emperor Jones 4 John Gosden Frankie Dettori Sheikh Mohammed
1993 Swing Low 4 Richard Hannon Lester Piggott Roldvale Ltd
1992 Selkirk 4 Ian Balding Ray Cochrane George Strawbridge
1991 Polar Falcon 4 John Hammond Lester Piggott David Thompson
1990 Safawan 4 Michael Stoute Walter Swinburn Patricia Thompson
1989 Most Welcome 5 Geoff Wragg Paul Eddery Sir Philip Oppenheimer
1988 Broken Hearted 4 Paul Cole Richard Quinn Fahd Salman
1987 Then Again 4 Luca Cumani Ray Cochrane Richard Shannon
1986 Scottish Reel 4 Michael Stoute Walter Swinburn Cheveley Park Stud
1985 Prismatic 3 Henry Cecil Paul Eddery Lord Howard de Walden
1984 DEAD HEAT Cormorant Wood 4 Barry Hills Steve Cauthen Bobby McAlpine
1984 DEAD HEAT Wassl 4 John Dunlop Willie Carson Ahmed Al Maktoum
1983 Noalcoholic 6 G. Pritchard-Gordon George Duffield William du Pont III
1982 Motavato 4 Barry Hills Steve Cauthen Robert Sangster
1981 Belmont Bay 4 Henry Cecil Lester Piggott Daniel Wildenstein
1980 Kris 4 Henry Cecil Joe Mercer Lord Howard de Walden
1979 Young Generation 3 Guy Harwood Greville Starkey Tony Ward
1978 Don 4 Bill Elsey Brian Rouse Eugene Ryan
1977 Relkino 4 Dick Hern Willie Carson Lady Beaverbrook
1976 El Rastro 6 Angel Penna Bill Pyers Daniel Wildenstein
1975 no race [a]
1974 Boldboy 4 Dick Hern Joe Mercer Lady Beaverbrook
1973 Sparkler 5 Robert Armstrong Lester Piggott Maria Mehl-Mülhens
1972 Brigadier Gerard 4 Ian Balding Joe Mercer Jean Hislop
1971 Welsh Pageant 5 Noel Murless Geoff Lewis Jim Joel
1970 Welsh Pageant 4 Noel Murless Sandy Barclay Jim Joel
1969 Habitat 3 F. Johnson Houghton Ron Hutchinson Charles Engelhard
1968 Supreme Sovereign 4 Harry Wragg Ron Hutchinson Mrs R. Hodges
1967 Bluerullah 4 Seamus McGrath Bill Williamson Seamus McGrath
1966 Silly Season 4 Ian Balding Geoff Lewis Paul Mellon
1965 Young Christopher 4 Freddie Maxwell Bill Williamson J. McShane
1964 The Creditor 4 Noel Murless Lester Piggott Lady Sassoon
1963 Queen's Hussar 3 Atty Corbett Scobie Breasley 6th Earl of Carnarvon
1962 Superstition 3 Cecil Boyd-Rochfort David Morris Hope Goddard Iselin
1961 Prince Midge 3 Jack Colling Duncan Keith Jakie Astor
1960 Sovereign Path 4 Ron Mason Lester Piggott Ron Mason
1959 Pall Mall 4 Cecil Boyd-Rochfort Harry Carr HM Queen Elizabeth II
1958 Pall Mall 3 Cecil Boyd-Rochfort Harry Carr HM Queen Elizabeth II

Home      Top_Of_Page validated web page
        © Copyright